48 – IRONMAN© 70.3 Chattanoga - Bret Hooppaw

I continue the IRONMAN© Chattanooga 70.3 series with a friend I met on course prior to the start of the race.  He talks about first how he is just truly grateful to even compete after a very interesting day in 2013 at IRONMAN© Cozumel.  After that race, his entire perspective on racing and training morphed into a more humble and safety oriented way of doing things.  He talks about his training going into the race with the help of his coach.  Bret mentions how he is a member of BASE Performance and uses their products to train and race with.  He will be recovering shortly and then ramping back up for IRONMAN© Louisville later this year in October. 

Weather that day:  67-91

Water:  74ish

-

Age Group: M 55-59

Swim – 29:55

T1 – 4:33

Bike – 2:46:53

T2 – 3:29

Run – 3:04

Total Race Time:  6:29:17
-

Gender Rank: 890

Division Rank:  66

Overall Rank:  1273

-

Follow Bret,

Instagram:  @ironnemo

Facebook:   Bret Hoopaw

Twitter:  @denali6

-

Follow Coach Terry,

Instagram:  @CoachTerryWilson

Instagram for Podcast: @PerfectRacePodcast

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/CoachTerryWilson

Website:  www.coachterrywilson.com

-

Mentioned on this episode:

Jackie Miller – Brit Fit Personal Coaching - http://www.britfit.com/

Wahoo Kickr:  https://www.wahoofitness.com/devices/bike-trainers

Base Performance:  https://www.baseperformance.com/

Cervelo:  https://www.cervelo.com/en-us

Tri Tats:  https://tritats.com/

Ice Friction Chain:  http://www.icefriction.com/

Zipps: https://www.zipp.com/wheels/

Xterra Wetsuits:  https://www.xterrawetsuits.com/

Rudy Project: http://www.rudyproject.com/

Honorable Mention:  Matt Miller

 Bret with the Crew.

Bret with the Crew.

 Medal and Swag

Medal and Swag

 On the Run

On the Run